On the New Year Symbolism, and Other Shenanigans

I used to think that New Year’s day is a very special thing, an important milestone in everyone’s lives that it requires celebration. But in reading more than what was prescribed in my school syllabus, I gained an understanding that the celebration of this day is nothing but a symbol of how the society intends to mark a new start– like the opening of a fiscal year, school year, or a new attempt at enrolling at the gym. Not trying to kill your New Year vibe here– just thinking out loud.

But much like any other symbol we recognize to celebrate, New Year is indeed, a good time to start anew.

In the most practical sense, New Year gives us the sense of fresh beginning with a clean slate planner and a very neat wall or table calendar. There’s something about January 1 that gives us new hope, that of course, things will be better this time. No less too does this day give all of us the license to be mushy, or reminiscent, of what the previous year/s had given us.

Being introspective as I am (or as a friend once told me I am ‘melancholic’), I have my fair share of 2013’s thoughts that hopefully, I will get to ponder on for decisions I am yet to make starting tomorrow.

1. Life is a cycle of trial and errors.

While I have parents who can advice me on anything, friends willing to give me both sober and drunk tips, there’s no fool-proof means to deal with anything. This is also one of the reasons why I am never an advocate of self-help books. I firmly believe that we cannot learn from the mistakes we haven’t yet made– but if you’d ask me with the intention to follow– I’d say it’s worth it to try anything. As in ANYTHING.

2. Growing a year older doesn’t necessarily makes things better.

When I was younger I was restricted to do most things that children of my age were allowed to, or so I believe. I had the thinking that when I grow up, I will be more free, liberated, and that I can do anything. But I was wrong. Growing up with the consciousness that I am responsible for my actions actually kept me from doing some things I would have done if the country was under some sort of anarchy– but we’re not.

3. Every day is a good day to start.

Start anything at all. I am not restricting this advice to doing things to make you feel/look or be better– it’s entirely up to you. I don’t believe that there are certain days that are best to do things like Monday, for gym; Friday, for building a social life, Sunday; for trying to be more religious. If you have the conviction that what you are about to begin doing is something you opt to do, do it now.

4. Take Life on an AS-IS Basis.

It is true when they say you have no choice– but this applies only to what happens around you. Nevertheless, you can choose to interpret everything the way you want them to be.

And let me end this post with a line from Tweedledee:

‘Contrariwise’, continued Tweedledee, ‘If it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be; but as it isn’t, it ain’t.’

Leave a Reply

